Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 1st, 2009

So far so good, we got in around 8:30pm Pacific Time Monday night and ate Salad, Rice, and Okra with Eggplants. I really wasn’t hungry, but I didn’t want to offend Mike’s mother who made the lovely meal for us earlier. It was delicious as always and very similar to my Raw Eating Plan.

Thankfully, Persian food is fruit & vegetable based. Most of the meals made in the culture are stew type meals made with or without some meats. Regardless of what you eat, there’s always white rice on the side.

But here, I will have to really work hard to stay strong and on track, because already, I’m getting the business about not eating meat. I explained to Mike’s mother that I’m eating only Raw Foods, Vegetables and no meat or meat products. She proclaims, you have to eat meat. If you don’t eat meat you get sick…. some of the same thinking and opinion I endured with my girlfriend Kristie. And then, it seemed everyone was against me, because Mike ganged up on me then. But so far, he seems to be sticking up for me and preaching my praises..

Read Full Post »

Encore/Wynn Pool

A Walk By the Pool In Vegas

When we arrived in Vegas, I was so tired and hungry we decided to stay in the hotel to watch Desperate Housewives and order room service. I ordered a Veggie Sandwich and a Fruit Plate, but before the food came we snacked on a Veggie Tray I got in Grand Junction, Colorado. I managed to take my Barley Max and drink some Carrot Juice throughout the day. I felt good and felt I was on the way to heathy eating again.

No sooner did the Housewives end, I was sleeping!!!
The next morning, Mike wanted breakfast, so we ate at one of the hotel restaurants.

It was 60 degrees and sunny outside, so we sat outside at the pool. I ordered some Oatmeal with Raisins and a Bran Muffin. I was so excited the hotel had on the menu fresh Carrot Juice… so I ordered so!
Then after some shopping and walking around our Hotel(Encore Hotel), we had some lunch. Both of us ordered Salads and we shared a Veggie Flatbread Pizza. It seems I take one step forward and take two steps back!!! On to Los Angeles,California.

Read Full Post »

Sushi Restaurant

Sushi w/Kristie & Dewey

If Thanksgiving Dinner was any indication of what my eating habits would turn into, I would have stuck with the food I made. But par for the course, I continued to get coffees at Starbucks, I snacked on those fudge pieces my sister in law made. Oh the Maple Fudge Brick she made was devine!!!! I even had Sushi Friday afternoon with my girlfriend Kristie… I had a Veggie Roll and a Salmon Roll.

Then I had breakfast the next morning with Mike and I indulged on French Toast and hashbrowns. When I was ordering, I honestly thought it was a good choice for breakfast. Then I realized I’m eating eggs on the French Toast and who knows how the Hashbrowns were made.

Saturday night, I my Bombay Sapphire and Tonic with Nachos, and a Green Salad. Both Unfortunately, had Cheese on them and I forgot to ask for no Cheese on the Salad.

Each day, I managed to forget taking my Barley Max one or more times, drinking my juice and keeping strong to my Eating Raw Foods decision. When you’re with family and friends, your eating plan comes in second place, or at least, that’s what happened with me on this trip.

Then Sunday when we pushed off toward Las Vegas, I had a Caramel Frappucino and a Whole Wheat Bagel scooped out with nothing else. I already took my Barley Max, drank my Carrot Juice, and had a Greek Salad on the trip. I was bound and determined to make the best of the time left of this trip and begin eating Raw again.

Read Full Post »

View From Trail

Looking Down On Golden

Lariat Trail In Golden, CO

Driving Up Lariat Trail

Started the day brisk… with some errands to run before we headed over to my brothers place. But first, we went to downtown Golden, and stopped into Starbucks for my Pumpkin Spiced Iced Coffee with Soy. From there we headed to Lariat Trail, which is part of my old stomping grounds. We used to drive up the mountain, overlooking the City of Golden and party, neck, etc. as teenagers. It was beautiful again to see it.!

After a quick stroll down memory lane, we headed to Steve’s for Thanksgiving Dinner which was schedualed for 1pm. I still had to make my Sweet Potatoe Delight and Cucumber Delight and a Green Salad meal additions. My sister in law was very encouraging about me making my raw food additions to the meal. She understands the decision to go raw, because her sister is a vegan and her sister in law is also a vegan.

Sweet Potatoe Delight:
4Sweet Potatoes
1Green Apple
2Tbls Unsweetened Honey
1/4CupsOrganic Raisins
1/4CupsOrganic Cranberrys
1CupFresh Orange Juice

Chop Sweet Potatoes, Apple and sprinkle Raisins, Cranberrys, Honey over dish and pour Orange Juice over the entire thing and place in oven at 350 degrees for an hour or until Potatoes are tender.

Cucumber Delight:
6Cucumbers
1CupCarrots
1CupCelery
4Green Onions
1/4Tspn Dill Weed
1/2Cup Olive Oil
Celtic Salt

Peel Cucumbers, Cut Cucmbers in half, then cut in half again and scoop out the insides. Place the insides of Cucumber in bowl with chopped up Celery, Green Onions, Carrots, Dill Weed and Oil. Mix and spoon into the Cucumber tubs and refrigerate before serving.

Green Salad:
Mixed Greens
Spinach
Red & Orange Bell Peppers
Green Onions
Avocados
Dried Cranberrys

So once I finished my new additions to the Thanksgiving Day Meal, we sat down to eat, because I was running tight on time, and so, I didn’t have a chance to take my Barley Max, or Drink my Carrot Juice.
I had to try a slice of Turkey, scoop of Mashed Potatoes, Stuffing along with my delights. Unfortunately, my Sweet Potatoe Delight wasn’t ready in time, so we snacked on that later.! And of course for dessert, we had a slice of Pumpkin Pie and Cherry Pie with Homemade Whipped Cream. So sinful, I forced myself to go for a walk on the mesa, behind there house. I invited the kids and my sister in law for a walk and when we got back, nothing more was put into my mouth.. until the next day.

Read Full Post »