Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 22nd, 2009

Maybe my ticket was called, when I indulged in some Sherbet Friday night at the movies.?? Or did it start earlier than that, when I was dipping into the Whipped Topping with my Fresh Fruit Desserts???

Anyway you cut it, I’m laid up with back pain making getting around slower than usual.:( And it also means, I’m not hitting the Pilates Gym (since Thursday) getting my usual cardio workout and physical exercise. So eating has somewhat fallen by the wayside.:(

Mike and I have been making some hearty soups to eat, to help beat the colder temperatures and I’ve been tossing my Green Salads. We’re using all the Vegetables and goodies we’re buying at the Costco and Giants Grocery Store, but it’s the extras that are getting me down.

Monday night, I indulged in a bowl of Strawberry Ice Cream.
Sunday afternoon, I indulged in a block of Hershey’s Chocolate with Nuts and a spoonful of Peanut Butter. This was a repeated snack from Saturday Night. I just had the urge for chocolate (and there’s a reason why!)
In addition to all these indulgences I’ve also been over doing it on the Whole Wheat Bread and taking extra servings of all these great soups.

Mike’s Minestrone (Vegetable) Soup:
He called it Minestrone Soup with out the noodles. I didn’t make either, so I’m just going to list the ingredients.
Cabbage
Carrots
Parsnips
Yellow Onions
Spinach
Zucchini
Squash
Tomato Paste
Diced Tomatoes

Mike’s Barley & Carrot Soup:
He actually told me he got the idea to make this soup after he read my Raw Recipe Cook Book. After reading the Lentils & Barley Soup Recipe and the Carrot Soup Recipe he made this version.
Barley
Potato
Garlic
White Beans
Carrots
Lentils
Onions
Cabbage

Read Full Post »

Blizzard of 09' in D.C. Area

Shoveled Snow at House

Blizzard of 09' in D.C. Area

Shoveled Snow at House

Friday night, the Washington D.C. metro area got hit with snow that didn’t stop until Saturday night. That means we got over 26 inches of snow. Before the snow came Friday, we went to go see a movie (Did You Hear About the Morgans?) in dry conditions and by the time the movie let out, it was snowing and traffic was backed up as far as the eye could see.

Luckily, we made it home slow and safe as we watched others on the commute who were so lucky. There were a handful of cars already on the side of the road and others sliding through traffic to make it to there destination.

Since I didn’t get my workout on Friday, Saturday I thought I’d get a workout by shoveling the 12 or so inches that had already fell. By this time everything was closed, so I figured so was the Pilates Gym. The snow didn’t stop until Sunday morning, so I went out again and started shoveling. But this time, I over did it and got hurt from lifting that heavy snow. 😦

So I took it really easy…. laying in bed with a heating pad and taking Advil. Monday, I was feeling much better and so we went to the Leesburg Outlet Mall… Did a bunch of walking and felt good. Today(Tuesday) we went out and got caught in a bunch of traffic while we dropped off drying cleaning, hit Costco, and stopped off at TJMaxx. Needless to say, not feeling too good, so I’m laying here with the heating pad and making my blog entry.

I don’t know when I’ll be able to get back on track with Pilates, or even doing some crunches and weights at home???? It’s a bit frustrating and makes eating a real challenge, because I’m not able to work it off.

Read Full Post »